Future Trip: Give Me Idea(s)

I sit here daydreaming where I want to go next as far as backpacking is concern. The Great Smoky Mountains National Park has now imposed a $4.00 fee per person per night for anyone who wish to backpack here. I can live with the fee since it’s not completely outrageous, but it will take some getting used too. The only fees I think about when going backpacking in the Smokies is food and gas money.

Anyway, I want some idea(s) for my next trip. This trip can be in the Smokies on the southern side of the park around Thunderhead Mountain, Gregory Bald, etc. Or the next trip can be at any of the following locations: Roan Highlands, Nantahala Headwaters Loop, Shining Rock Wilderness, and Panthertown Valley. The last three are located in Western North Carolina while Roan Highlands is on the Tennessee and North Carolina state line. I already have the Nantahala Headwaters Loop mapped out, but the other three areas I have no idea what loop to do. If I go back to the Smokies, I want go somewhere I haven’t been. I have not explore the southern end of the park other than Cades Cove and the Little River Trail. I may leave Gregory Bald alone until June when the rhododendron are in bloom. Of course I’m not the only one who is thinking about this. There is a lot of places within two hours of driving from my house and I have no idea which locations to explore next, so help me out bloggers!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

