Trust Your Bike

One of my bike riding partner has a saying, “we’ll ride our trusty steeds to glory.” I have ridden my steed with pride and great confidence in its ability as well as mine. Every hardcore riders will tell you that you HAVE to trust your bike. For me, it was as if an aluminum frame birthed out of my private region and became part of my body. Within a month of purchasing my bike, I’ve become at one with my bike. I know its limitation, its shifting prowess, its braking power, the tires ability to stick to the trail, and most of all my mind knows how to hardness the bike’s prowess for epic bike rides.For nearly two years my bike didn’t have a single component failure and then my luck turned.

On a joy ride one day this past summer I started noticing my rear shock was not rebounding back to its original position after it absorb a bump on the trail. So, I checked the air pressure and it was pretty darn low, it needs to be at 95-100psi for my skinny butt to achieve a 20-25% sag,  so I added some more air back to the appropriate level for my riding style. The next day it failed to rebound and I did the air check process all over. That when I noticed a valve has broken and has been leaking air, majorly. I took the rear shock off the frame and take it to the local bike hospital to see one of the best bike doctor in this area. I still had a manufacturer’s warranty on the shock, so a few days later I get a new part and the doctor performed a successful operation. I went back on the trails with my bike and it was as if it was never injured. Fast forward to yesterday, I was riding hard at my local stomping ground and noticed the handlebars getting closer to my body. I looked down to my rear shock and it had sagged more than it was suppose too. I get off the bike press down and it rebounded back to normal, odd. So, I ride on back to the car and noticed my skinny butt was sinking to the ground and the bike felt as if it was going collapse and make a sandwich out of me. (if you have a full-suspension bike, you’ll understand this.) For those of you that don’t, the best I can tell you is the shock is what holds the bike up, without the shock the bike folds.

I checked the air in the shock and the PSI WAS 45!!! It lost nearly 50psi from last time I put air in it which was the day the shock left the bike hospital. I’m losing air, again. I’m not convinced entirely that it an equipment failure, but could have just lost air over the last few months just like your tire loses air. This entire situation is starting to mess with my mind and confidence in the shock. I feel I will be rolling down a bumpy trail and lose air entirely and the bike fold up and send me to a human hospital for a lot of stitches and broken bones. Stay tune for how this situation unfolds over the next few days as I troubleshoot the reason behind the leakage.

Leave a Reply

